top of page

Learning to slow down


I remember walking somewhere with my sister recently and her almost having to break into a jog to catch up with me, gasping ‘I always feel like I’m in a rush when I’m with you’. It was then that I realised that my sheer lack of ability to slow down in all aspects of my life could be the very root of my – what feels like - constant stress.

At the start of Feb, I recently discovered a new magazine that I absolutely love. Three weeks later and I still haven’t sat down and finished it. I have dipped into bits here and there but the whole idea of subscribing to this wellness and mindfulness oriented magazine was so I had an excuse to just sit down and stop for a minute. Frustratingly, this has not been the case.

I am in the thick of my masters, have a part time job and volunteer for a fabulous social enterprise. All of this is engaging, exciting and exactly what I want to be doing. However, from time to time I find myself feeling like my brain is full to the brim, unable to retain any more information and stressed to the point of not knowing what it is I am even stressed about.

Because of all of this, I have been becoming more and more aware over the last month or so that I am in desperate need to slow down the pace, and I have been making an active effort to do so.

These are just a few simple things that are helping me to halt the fast paced lifestyle and minimise the stress levels as I go:

1. Sitting down to eat.

This might sound strange on the surface but I recently went to a mindful eating workshop. I found it eye opening and helpful in identifying the shocking fact that there is rarely a time where I simply sit down and enjoy the food I am eating. I realised I am either on my phone, watching TV or on the go. With this in mind, it’s no wonder that I wolf my meals down in seconds and continue on with whatever it is I was doing. I love food, so I am making an active effort to take the time to enjoy it.

2. Getting outside.

Most days, I go straight from my house to the bus, to uni, to the bus, to my house. I find walking home instead of taking the bus helps to clear my mind and gets me some much-needed fresh air. I also find that I take in my surroundings more, whilst getting a much needed break from my phone!

3. Going for a swim.

This has become my number one favourite activity for taking a break. Swimming is refreshing, relaxing and good for both the body and the mind. I have started swimming twice a week and it is the perfect way to (temporarily) forget about everything else I am supposed to be thinking about.

4. Putting down my phone.

In the evenings, I have been swapping my phone for either a magazine or a book. I realised much to my dismay, that although I feel like I am taking a break from work when I am browsing social media on my phone or laptop, I am not having a break from staring at a screen. It’s no wonder my brain feels fried 24/7.

5. Listening to an E-Book.

A work friend kindly recommended an e-book to me a couple of weeks ago, and ever since, I have found that listening to this on the bus or while I am walking, is much better than listening to music for stopping your mind from thinking about the million other things you need to do. Focusing on someone else speaking acts as a breather from the ever-mounting stress I accumulate when I 'stop' what I am doing!

6. Starting a bullet journal.

Possibly the biggest Instagram and YouTube craze of 2018 so far. I saw my first bullet journal on Instagram in Jan and have been obsessed ever since. It is the perfect way to keep on top of your schedule, as well as habits and moods such as sleep and anxiety. Bullet Journals are far more practical than shop bought diaries as they give the flexibility to plan however you like - changing the structure as the structure of your week changes! If you haven’t seen or tried one – you should go do that now!

7. Planning and cooking meals.

This sounds like a given, but all too often I am so constantly on the go that I miss out the weekly food shop. This means that I end up buying food out at random times when I get the chance. It also means spending 20 times more than I need to. This is why I have been making an effort to plan meals and pack lunch for uni. I have found that this has left me feeling far more prepared and less likely to grab something extortionate on the go. – It also means there’s more time for me to sit down and enjoy what I have made. - The mindful eating coach would be proud!

Here's to a future of minimised stress! (fingers crossed).

Related Posts

See All

P.M.A

RELATED POSTS
bottom of page