top of page

P.M.A


Recently, I have found myself a bit stuck in a rut. I have been lacking motivation and the get up and go to grab life by the reins. Being third year and coming to the end of the final term (eek), my timetable has dwindled to two, three hour sessions a week meaning I have Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays completely free. Now don’t get me wrong, I would love to be one of those amazing people who just always seem to be up and about at the break of dawn. I am not, and never will be one of them. (read 'When my head, my heart and my stomach can't agree' for more insight on that...)

What I have discovered is that if I have no plans for the day, I just find myself at a loss as to what to do. I am not someone who’s stress levels are okay with leaving everything to the last minute, so, being the overly organised person that I am, I don’t often have the added stress of having to hit the library and cram on my days off. (one small aspect of my life I seem to be keeping together – touch wood!). Although I do have a part-time job which fills my evenings, I have just found myself feeling slightly frustrated, bored and in a bit of a rut as to what to do with all this spare time.

Here comes my recent epiphany…

A couple of weeks ago, I woke up at around 9am to the sunniest day in a while and my housemates were all out at Uni or placement. I, however, had no plans or commitments until 6pm when I had work. (I’m not actually as boring as I seem, I swear). I found myself lying in bed, literally just killing time and thought to myself, I can’t keep going on like this. On a whim, I messaged my group chat and shared my dilemma; sunny day, no one around to play. Miraculously, one of my friends replied suggesting we go on a bike ride. I was so excited by the idea I leapt out of bed and made lunch quicker than ever before. On the walk to their house, everything seemed bright and positive. – So this was what it feels like to get out of the house!

We collected our bikes and cycled off into the distance. The sun was shining and I was reminded of how fun and refreshing it was to get out and do something I don’t do all the time. We cycled to Clifton Suspension Bridge and admired the cracking view, then went and grabbed a coffee in a cute little coffee shop and had a fabulous day all round.

My epiphany came as we were cycling home...

I had been in such a rut, convinced that it was due to my lack of structure, lectures and new found freedom when really, it was all down to my PMA (Positive Mental Attitude) – or lack of. I am lucky enough to live in a city where there are so many cool places to see and things to do, and I have come to the realisation that I need to make the most of my spare time while I still have it. I am very aware that this is probably the most flexible and open my schedule will be, possibly ever!

I need to spend less time, killing time, because I don’t know what to do with it.

RELATED POSTS
bottom of page