top of page

Why aquarobics is something everyone should try at least once


Let me tell you, one class down and I am sold.

I am studying for a masters and I work part time. This means I have lots of room to make up excuses to myself about why I don’t have time to go to the gym. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy going to the gym, however sometimes I just don’t have time! (Can’t be bothered).

When I do go, I always leave with far more energy than I had walking in, and feeling much less stressed out. So, I decided to stop the excuses and get my butt back into gear.

Obviously hitting the gym hard was too much effort for someone who is currently rather unfit, so I searched the local leisure centre’s website for a different option.

And this is where my new favourite class comes into play; here are seven reasons why EVERYONE should try aquarobics at least once.

1. It is hilarious.

Heard of laughter yoga? Try bobbing around in a circle whilst waving your arms around to ‘shout out to my ex’ without breaking into fits of laughter instead. Tip: Do not make eye contact with your friend who is bobbing around in front as this will not help you compose yourself.

2. Age is not a factor.

Forget gym veterans prancing around in vest tops and sports bras, at aquarobics, everyone is welcome. My friend and I were the youngest there by 20 years - we were the rookies, and that was fine.

3. You will still break a sweat.

I underestimated how much of a work out it actually is. To the amused swimmers on the other side of the pool, we may look like a disjointed aqua Zumba class, but the resistance from the water is not very forgiving.

4. No one will see you sweat.

Forget (un)attractively dripping with sweat as you run for 20 minutes on a treadmill, being in the water means sweat is the least of your worries because no one will ever know.

5. Good for the body and the mind.

For me, this is the best thing about it. It is such a good way to put everything else you need to think about out of your mind. The moves change so quickly there is no time to think about anything other than what you are supposed to be doing – trying to stay afloat and in time with the rest of the group (practically impossible). Plus, I find there is something relaxing about being in the water, even if everyone is thrashing around and laughing like crazy.

6. The music is pumping.

I am a not-so-secret club classics fan – they help me get up and ready for the day each morning. The mix of abba, boyzone and Hit 40 UK was just what we needed to keep going for the entire 55 minutes without needing to stop for a break. – For those thinking this might be because it is easy, you have clearly not tried aquarobics. As I mentioned earlier, it is hard work.

7. Time flies..

I did not check the clock once. Something I do in the gym every 3 minutes or so. The music and the hilarity meant I did not need nor want to check how long was left. – A first for me.

I left feeling relaxed, and tired ready to come back next week for another hour of fun – granted, you won’t get the same work out as in other more intensive classes, but my abs got a work out from all the laughing if nothing else.

RELATED POSTS
bottom of page