top of page

WHEN MY HEAD, MY HEART AND MY STOMACH CAN'T AGREE


When I think ambitiously to myself about all the things I plan to do that week, it usually consists of; swimming, gymming and life admin. Above all else, the prevailing thought being to avoid JustEat once and for all.

Unfortunately, as I’m sure so many other full-time student, full-time socialite and takeaway addict’s will agree; this is rarely, (try never) the case.

Realistically, I will avoid anything to do with the local leisure centre using the 10 minute bus journey as a perfectly reasonable excuse not to bother. As a result, I will think to myself at least twice a day that I really must start to exercise more and will vow to try out some 20 minute YouTube workout using my never been used £8 dumbbells which I bought on a whim from TK-Maxx, as a compromise to my shamelessly unfit self.

I will most likely spend the spare time I do have when not at Uni, completely and utterly worn out from the gruelling 9 hours of lectures I have to suffer a week. (yes, a whole nine hours a week!). I will probably collapse on the sofa at 2pm on a Wednesday afternoon and resort to Netflix and naps to heal my pain. When I awake at approximately 6pm, I will think again how I must exercise more and promptly order dinner as I am still far too tired to think about trying to cook anything myself. My housemates will join me and we will tuck into our Bombay Raj feeling no immediate regret.

The next day I will once again vow to make a trip to the gym and make a pact with myself to be less frivolous with my bank account, settling on the thought that if I can’t bring myself to physically exercise, then I should at least exercise a bit more will power when it comes to JustEat usage in the future. Obviously there is an ongoing battle here between my plans for the future and the reality of my life, but it is times like these where I am left with no choice but to accept the fact that I am a fully functioning, half-fledged adult with more month left at the end of my money. This is okay because what student isn’t.

If there is anyone else out there who finds themselves in a similar predicament to me, I think we should embrace this in-between stage of our lives. The stage where it is socially acceptable to bring in last night's pizza to Uni for lunch because I had a 9am start and no time or food to prepare the night before. (That or I just have very accepting friends).

Either way, the point is, I am 21, I am happy and I will always have things I would rather do with my time. Things which I feel will benefit my life for the better. But for now, these are just ideals and that is fine by me.

Besides, someone has to make use of Dominoes’ fantastic weekday deals.

RELATED POSTS
bottom of page