top of page

IT'S NOT ME, IT'S THE PLANT


When I moved into my first student house in my second year of Uni, I embarked on the traditional, not to be missed IKEA run. After stocking up on all the usual’s; candles, cushions, more useless ornaments, I stumbled upon a section I had not previously explored – the plant room. I was very excited and spent a good 20 mins sussing out the different types of potted plants on offer. I settled for a lovely looking plant which required little watering and care. I felt this would be the best option as I entered a world I was previously unfamiliar with. I named her Claudia and carried her home on my knee excited for what the future had to bring.

After my first purchase, I was hooked. I went on to buy a number of different plants, including cacti, succulents and an aloe vera. All of which claim to require little to no care. Perfect for a student who doesn't always remember to do her laundry every week. However, something went very wrong, very early on...

In the first few months of owning these plants, I did everything I could to make sure they got the long lifespan and great quality of life they deserve. I placed them in a row along my window sill where they could soak up the most rays. I watered them regularly, but still they looked unhappy. Little did I know, this had been the issue all along.

During a visit from my mum, I asked her despairingly why all my plants looked like they were dying, and what I was doing so wrong. To which she replied, ‘they’re not dying, they’re drowning’. Well it’s safe to say, I was horrified. In trying so hard to keep these plants alive, I was unknowingly killing them. What I hadn’t realised was when the label states little water needed, they really do mean little water needed.

A year on and the plants are still with me, Claudia looking more than a little worse for wear. I water them from time to time, but nowhere near as much as I did. They have pride position on my window sill still, but just never seem to thrive. With plants having become such a big craze the last year, I can’t help but wonder; is it just me. Does everyone else manage to keep their plants happy? Is the answer to just accept my fate and simply buy a new one when the end finally comes? I do not know. All I can do is hope the damage already done is not too great, that they will make a great and unexpected turnaround and surprise us all!

Hang in there Claudia.

Related Posts

See All
RELATED POSTS
bottom of page